Bergmannstraße 6 . 6900 Bregenz
Tel +43 5574 43971

Tue-Sun 14.00 -18.00
Mail to MAGAZIN4 >>
 Past Exhibitions
 About us
15 - 22 July 2007
4' 33"
Program on the occasion of fifteen years of Magazin4
Curator: Wolfgang Fetz and Peter Lewis
Saturday, 14.07.2007, 8 pm
  Program >  

4' 33"
[Three Movements, no notes]

15 artists and their guests are taking part in a 10-day performance/exhibition entitled 4’33” after John Cage’s 1952 ‘silent’ musical composition. The event held at Magazin4, Bregenz, is conceived to generate and present new works of ingenuity and invention, based upon Cage’s original idea that music is all around us if only we are able to recognise it.

The ‘music’ of silence is thereby signified in gesture, or by proxy, yet is never actually silent. The original work caused a public row in the tradition of all the best radical avant-gardes. A concert pianist, stopwatch in hand, opened the lid and without touching the keys closed it after 4 minutes and thirty-three seconds (the average length of popular tunes, or of the muzak merchandised in the 1950s). The audience was, in true form, outraged by the scandal. Yet this is a serious work, with precedence in Eastern traditional forms of expression, where the thing not stated achieves greater significance.

Can we still be seized in bewilderment in the discomfiting face of something not immediately recognised as art or music if it exceeds the frame of our need for convention? If not, perhaps something is lost.

4’33” has been curated by Wolfgang Fetz and Peter Lewis. It is part of the City of Bregenz’s Summer Festival and celebrates the 15th anniversary of Magazin4.

4’33” starts on Saturday, July 14th, and runs through Sunday, 22nd. Works by Martin Creed and band, Fabienne Audeoud, Marcia Farquhar, Salomé Voegelin and David Mollin, Szuper Gallery, Rosie Cooper, Patrick Courtney, Cecilia Wee and guests, Mark McGowan, Peter Suchin, Disinformation, Celine Condorelli & Beatrice Gibson, Artists Anonymous and Jo Mitchell and guests will form a spectacle that unfolds throughout the 10 days in installations, performances and structures of participation including a party.

The question to be raised by the artists is whether the challenge or test by their subjective responses to 4’33” can situate new terms of the axiom, i.e. of an ‘indeterminate’ musical and artistic form, by rearticulating Cage’s certainty that it is impossible to achieve the intention of presenting ‘silence’.

Martin Creed   Work/Arbeit/Rabota, C-type print, 41x 60 cm, 2007, Courtesy Szuper Gallery, London

Artists Anonymous, Fabienne Audéoud, Disinformation, Celine Condorelli & Beatrice Gibson, Rosie Cooper, Patrick Courtney, Martin Creed, Marcia Farquhar, Conor Kelly, Colm Lally, Mark McGowan, Jo Mitchell, Peter Suchin, Szuper Gallery, Salomé Voegelin & David Mollin, Cecilia Wee

Photo: Martin Creed and his Band

MAGAZIN4
   
 Aktuell
 Archiv
 Publikationen
 Wir über uns
 Räumlichkeiten
 
   
 
15. - 22. Juli 2007
 
 
4' 33"
Projekt anlässlich des 15jährigen Bestehens
des Magazin4
 
     
 
Eröffnung des Projektes
Samstag, 14.07.2007 um 20.00 Uhr
 
  Programm>>  
     
 
4' 33"
[Drei Sätze, keine Noten]

15 Künstler und ihre Gäste nehmen an einer 10-tägigen Performance/Ausstellung des Magazin4-Bregenzer Kunstverein im Stadtraum von Bregenz teil, die nach John Cages „stiller“ Komposition 4’33’’ aus dem Jahr 1952 benannt ist. Ziel der Ausstellung ist es, neue aufschlussreiche und erfinderische Arbeiten hervorzubringen und auszustellen, die auf Cages ursprünglicher Idee beruhen, dass die Musik uns ständig umgibt und wir sie bloß erkennen müssen.

Die „Musik“ der Stille wird demzufolge durch eine Geste oder stellvertretend bedeutet – und ist doch nie still. Cages Originalwerk stieß wie alle radikalen Avantgarde-Arbeiten auf Unverständnis und Ablehnung. Der Ablauf ist wie folgt: Ein Konzertpianist mit einer Stoppuhr öffnet den Deckel und, ohne die Tasten berührt zu haben, schließt ihn nach 4 Minuten und 33 Sekunden – der durchschnittlichen Länge eines Poplieds oder der in den 1950s erstmals weit verbreiteten Hintergrundmusik, genannt „Muzak“. Das Publikum war ob dieses „Skandals“ schlichtweg empört. Doch Cages Arbeit war keineswegs als Witz gemeint. Vielmehr hat sie bedeutende Vorläufer in traditionellen östlichen Ausdrucksformen, in denen das nicht Ausgesprochene eine tiefgründige Bedeutung erhält.

Werden wir auch heute noch von Arbeiten in Erstaunen ersetzt, die sich nicht unmittelbar als Kunst oder Musik erkennen geben, weil sie unserem Wunsch nach Konventionen nicht entsprechen? Sollte dies nicht mehr möglich sein, würde dies bedeuten, dass uns etwas Grundlegendes abhanden gekommen ist.

4’33’’ wird kuratiert von Wolfgang Fetz und Peter Lewis zum Anlass des Sommerfestivals der Stadt Bregenz und des 15-jährigen Bestehens des Magazin4.
4’33’’ beginnt am Samstag, den 14. Juli und endet am Sonntag, den 22. Juli. Zu sehen sind Arbeiten von Martin Creed und seiner Band, Fabienne Audeoud, Marcia Farquhar, Salomé Voegelin und David Mollin, Szuper Gallery, Rosie Cooper, Patrick Courtney, Cecilia Wee und Gästen, Mark McGowan, Peter Suchin, Disinformation, Celine Condorelli & Beatrice Gibson, Artists Anonymous sowie Jo Mitchell und Gästen. Während zehn Tagen entfaltet sich die Ausstellung in Installationen, Performances und partizipativen Strukturen sowie einer Party.
Die Ausstellung stellt die Frage, ob die kritische Auseinandersetzung oder subjektiven Antworten der Künstler auf 4’33’’ dem axiomatischen Prinzip einer „undeterminierten“ musikalischen und künstlerischen Form eine neue Bedeutung zuführen können, indem sie Cages Gewissheit – dass es unmöglich sei, „Stille“ darzustellen – erneut aufgreift.

     
 
Martin Creed   Work/Arbeit/Rabota, C-type print, 41x 60 cm, 2007, Courtesy Szuper Gallery, London

Artists Anonymous, Fabienne Audéoud, Disinformation, Celine Condorelli & Beatrice Gibson, Rosie Cooper, Patrick Courtney, Martin Creed, Marcia Farquhar, Conor Kelly, Colm Lally, Mark McGowan, Jo Mitchell, Peter Suchin, Szuper Gallery, Salomé Voegelin & David Mollin, Cecilia Wee

Kuratiert von Wolfgang Fetz und Peter Lewis

Photo: Martin Creed and his Band